State Conservation Commission

Updated September 14, 2018


The Division of Conservation is governed by five elected commissioners:  two ex officio members representing the Agriculture Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, Kansas State University, and two appointed members representing the Kansas Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service.

The nine commissioners serve according to K.S.A. 2-1904.

  • Elected commissioners serve two year terms.
  • The method of election is by an area caucus of the district from each of the five administrative areas of Kansas.
  • Areas I, III and V shall elect in odd years.
  • Areas II and IV shall elect in even years.
  • The elected commissioners take office on January 1.
  • The Division of Conservation shall appoint a successor to fill an unexpired term of an elected commissioner. The successor shall be a resident of the same area as that of the predecessor.

Photo of the Current State Convervation Commissioners

The Elected Commissioners left to right are as follows:
Ted Nighswonger - Area 1
Rod Vorhees - Area V
Brad Shogren - Area III
John Wunder - Area IV
Andy Larson - Area II

Elected Commissioners



Ted Nighswonger

Area I Commissioner

Andrew Larson, Jr.

Area II Commissioner

Brad Shogren

Area III Commissioner

John H. Wunder

Area IV Commissioner, Vice-Chairperson

Rodney Voorhees

Area V Commissioner, Chairperson

Ex Officio Commissioners



Daniel (Dan) L. Devlin

K-State Research and Extension

Peter (Pete) J. Tomlinson, Ph.D.

K-State Extension Specialist for Environmental
Quality Agronomy Department

Appointed Commissioners




Terry Medley

Program Manager

Division of Water Resources
Kansas Department of Agriculture

Karen Woodrich

State Conservationist

Natural Resources Conservation Service
United States Department of Agriculture

SCC Media Corner

The State Conservation Commission took a break from their hard work for soil & water conservation at the Kansas State Fair Thursday, September 13, 2018, to enjoy the Ag Appreciation Luncheon with Governor Jeff Colyer and Secretary of Ag Jackie McClaskey.

2018 Kansas State Fair